Charles Faulkner Bryan : His Life and Music (1ST)


Charles Faulkner Bryan : His Life and Music (1ST)

  • 在庫がございません。海外の書籍取次会社を通じて出版社等からお取り寄せいたします。
    1. 納期遅延や、ご入手不能となる場合がございます。
    2. 複数冊ご注文の場合、分割発送となる場合がございます。
    3. 美品のご指定は承りかねます。
  • 【重要:入荷遅延について】

  • 製本 Hardcover:ハードカバー版/ページ数 368 p.
  • 言語 ENG
  • 商品コード 9781572332201
  • DDC分類 B

Full Description

Recognized as Tennessee's first composer of art music, Charles Faulkner Bryan blazed many trails. He was the first Tennessee composer to have a work performed by a large symphony orchestra, the first Tennessee musician to be awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship, and the first composer anywhere to write a symphony based on white spirituals. Further, he reached a large audience with works performed at Carnegie Hall and on national radio. Although he died in 1955 at the tragically early age of forty-three, he left a rich legacy. This biography explores Bryan's life and work as a music educator, folk music performer and researcher, and composer, along the way providing new insights into Southern culture, music, musicology, and folklore. Appalachian folk music was the connecting thread in the rich tapestry of Bryan's life, and Carolyn Livingston has woven the many strands of his career into a seamless and compelling account. Drawing on previously untapped archives and on interviews with the Bryan family, Livingston depicts the rise of a hardworking musician and educator from the Tennessee mountain country. As a folklore advocate, Bryan's compositions reflected both the preservation and the transformation of regional culture, and his performances in that genre drew audiences to college campuses well before the folk music revival of the 1960s. But it was as a southern Americanist composer that Bryan offered a unique perspective on the American neo-romantic scene of the 1930s and 1940s. He incorporated black spirituals, white spirituals, and Appalachian folk tunes into larger works, such as his folk opera Singin' Billy. His choral arrangements, including See Me Cross the Water, represented his joy in music and celebration, and his White Spiritual Symphony reflected his appreciation of his heritage with such themes as Goin' Over Jordan. Livingston discusses selected examples of his music in detail.As scholars and music enthusiasts renew their acquaintance with twentieth-century regional composers, Livingston's detailed work allows us to gain a new appreciation of Bryan. This book depicts a visionary who mastered composition, education, performance, and research, and it contributes to our understanding of the cultural transformations taking place the first half of the twentieth century. The Author: Carolyn Livingston, a native of Tennessee, is professor and director of graduate studies in music at the University of Rhode Island.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments                                    xi
Introduction xiii
Part I. See Me Cross the Water: Early Years,
Family, Place, and Education 3 (26)
The Caring Educator 29 (29)
Value in the Vernacular 58 (27)
The Young Composer 85 (40)
Part II. Give Ear and Hear My Voice: Postwar
Years, 1945--1955
The Composer Matures 125 (50)
A Dreamer and His Dulcimer 175 (32)
The Experienced Educator 207 (27)
A Legacy for American Music 234 (33)
Appendix A. Musical Works of Charles Faulkner 267 (7)
Bryan: A Chronological Listing
Appendix B. Musical Works of Charles Faulkner 274 (15)
Bryan: An Annotated Listing
Notes 289 (40)
Bibliography 329 (14)
Index 343