Roger Quilter : His Life and Music


Roger Quilter : His Life and Music

  • 提携先の海外書籍取次会社に在庫がございます。通常3週間で発送いたします。
    1. 納期遅延や、ご入手不能となる場合が若干ございます。
    2. 複数冊ご注文の場合、分割発送となる場合がございます。
    3. 美品のご指定は承りかねます。
  • 【重要:入荷遅延について】
  • ◆画像の表紙や帯等は実物とは異なる場合があります。
  • 製本 Hardcover:ハードカバー版/ページ数 396 p.
  • 言語 ENG
  • 商品コード 9780851158716
  • DDC分類 780.92

Full Description

The songs of Roger Quilter are a staple of the English art song repertoire, yet little is known of his life, and his popularity suffered an eclipse in postwar years largely through changing musical fashions. Championed by the great English tenor Gervase Elwes, Quilter became famous for songs such as 'Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal', 'Love's Philosophy' and 'Go, Lovely Rose'. The BBC included A Children's Overture in their first broadcast concert, andthe success of his atmospheric music for the children's fairy play Where the Rainbow Ends ensured his immense popularity. Access to numerous sources worldwide, many of them unpublished, and extensive interviews with friends and family, have enabled Valerie Langfield to write a sympathetic and authoritative account of Quilter, the first full-length study. The first part focuses on Quilter's life: she examines his relationships with his friends, particularly Grainger and the de Glehn family, and how his wealth, ill-health, family and homosexuality affected him. Her researches testify to Quilter's quiet philanthropy: his many practical actions included his founder-membershipof the Musicians Benevolent Fund, generous and discreet assistance to young musicians, and help to Jewish friends fleeing Germany and Austria before the second world war. The second part of the book discusses and contextualises all his music: songs, chamber, orchestral and theatre music, and his light opera, Julia, performed at Covent Garden in 1936. The CD - which can be ordered separately bypurchasers of the book - contains recordings of Quilter himself, either playing or conducting. The 17 songs that Quilter recorded in 1934 with the baritone Mark Raphael are included, together with his own arrangement for piano quintet of the song cycle To Julia with Hubert Eisdell as the tenor soloist. Quilter also conducts a short selection of items of music from Where the Rainbow Ends. Also: Schedule of performances; Catalogue of works; Discography; Bibli


List of Illustrations Preface and Acknowledgements Abbreviations Editorial Note Chapter 1 Family background and Frankfurt, to 1901 Chapter 2 From the Crystal Palace to Where the Rainbow Ends (1901 - 1911) Chapter 3 Inheritance, Montagu Street and the First World War (1911 - 1919) Chapter 4 Friends and relations (1919 - 1929) Chapter 5 Julia, Acacia Road, and the Second World War (1929 - 1939) Chapter 6 The Last Years (1939 - 1953) Chapter 7 Songs and choral works: part 1 Chapter 8 Songs and choral works: part 2 Chapter 9 Where the Rainbow Ends - the story of a journey Chapter 10 Light music, genre pieces and the miniaturist Chapter 11 The opera: The Blue Boar - Julia - Love at the Inn - etc Appendices A Quilter Family Tree B Schedule of professional performances of Where the Rainbow Ends C Personalia D Catalogue of works E Discography F CD Contents NOTE - dependent upon funding Bibliography L Index